Bryan honors graduates, confers honorary doctorate
May 01, 2007

E-mail this to a friend   Post this page to Facebook  

     Bryan College honored members of the Class of 2007 Saturday, May 5, as 200 seniors received their degrees.Graduates turn their tassels after their degrees were conferred.
     The college conferred 59 Bachelor of Arts degrees, and 143 Bachelor of Science degrees. Despite threatening skies, graduation was held on the college Triangle, and concluded before rain began shortly after noon.
     In addition to the diplomas, college officials presented four awards to graduating seniors as well as an honorary doctorate:
     The P.A. Boyd Award, presented to a senior man and woman “whose principles and character have secured for them the highest degree of influence over their fellow students” went to Bethany Perseghetti of Kettering, Ohio, and R.J. Smith of Helena, Mont.
     Joy Wright and Sandra Kidd, graduates from the traditional and Aspire degree completion programs respectively, were recognized for having the highest academic averages.
     Erin Gray of Dayton, Tenn., was honored for having made the “Most Progress” during her time at Bryan.
     Steven Chambers of Fayetteville, Ga., received the Faithfulness and Loyalty Award for his dedication to the college.Bryan President Dr. Stephen D. Livesay, left, presents Dr. Kenneth G. Hanna his honorary doctorate as Academic Vice President Dr. Calvin White prepares to place the hood of the degree on Dr. Hanna's sholders.
     President Dr. Stephen D. Livesay also conferred on Dr. Ken Hanna the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters. Dr. Hanna, a member of the Bryan College Class of 1957, served as Bryan’s president from 1986 to 1993. He previously served as president of Winnipeg (now Providence) Bible College and Seminary and vice president and dean of education at Moody Bible Institute and now is professor of Bible exposition and director of the Southwest Region for External Studies for Dallas Theological Seminary. He was honored for his service to Bryan and in Christian education.
     Commencement addresses were delivered by graduates Destiny C. Gordon, representing the Aspire program, and Elizabeth Anne Starbuck, representing the traditional program.