Seniors, faculty and staff recognized
April 29, 2009

E-mail this to a friend   Post this page to Facebook  


Twenty seniors and 25 faculty and staff members were recognized during Bryan’s second of two Honors Day chapels April 29.

Student honorees included:Ashley Baker

Ashley Baker, daughter of David and Grace Park of Knoxville, Tenn., received the F.R. Rogers Senior Award in Bible, presented to a senior who excels as a Bible student and manifests true Christian consecration.Brittany Rodriguez

Brittany Rodriguez, daughter of James and Melodye Zahn of McMinnville, Tenn., received the Christian Ministry to an Outstanding Senior award.Faith Ammen

Faith Ammen, daughter of David and Elizabeth Ammen of Roanoke, Va., received the Senior Communication Studies Scholarship Award, for outstanding accomplishment in the major.Brittany McGehee

Brittany McGehee, daughter of David and Michele McGehee of Ruston, La., received the F.R. Rogers Senior Award in Music, presented to a senior who excels as a music student and manifests true Christian consecration. She also received the Music Teachers National Association Student Achievement Recognition Award.Dana Seeley

Dana Seeley, daughter of Douglas and Dawn Seeley of Cleveland, Tenn., received the Hilltop Players Senior Award, for outstanding contribution to the theatre program.Mark Maddox

Mark Maddox, son of Robert and Gail Maddox of Jonesboro, Ga., received the Outstanding Senior in Business Award.Ronald Elswick

Ronald Elswick, son of Ronald Jr. and Karen Elswick of Cumberland, Va., received the History Department Senior Award.
Stepheny Petitte

Stepheny Petitte, daughter of Ron and Sue Petitte of Dayton, Tenn., received the Outstanding Senior in Politics and Government Award.Mary Clauson

Mary Clauson, daughter of Michael and Christine Clauson of Warren, Mich., received the Senior Math Award, for outstanding achievement in that major.Nathan Hill

Nathan Hill, son of Terry and Susan Hill of Columbia, Tenn., received the Outstanding Senior in Computer Science Award.

Laurabeth HixsonLaurabeth Hannah MoreleyHixson, daughter of Wallace and Elizabeth Hixson of Dayton, received the Mrs. E.B. Arnold Student Teacher Award for elementary school student teachers, and Hannah Morley, daughter of Patricia Morley of Colorado Springs, Colo. Received the award for secondary school student teachers.
Chris Young

Chris Young of Campaign, Tenn., received the Psychology Award for outstanding accomplishment in the major.Joy Holby

Joy Holby, daughter of Frank and Mary Holby of Sharpsburg, Ga., received the Outstanding Senior in Spanish Award.Melissa Brown

Melissa Brown, daughter of Daniel and Janet Brown of Soddy-Daisy, Tenn., received the Robert and Nancy Spoede Sanctity of Human Life Award, presented to the senior who has best demonstrated the biblical principles of the sacredness and dignity of human life and to the cause of the pro-life movement.Katherine Davis

Katherine Davis of Harriman, Tenn., received the Outstanding Senior in Exercise and Health Science Award.Kirsten Meberg

Kirsten Meberg, daughter of Ted and Beverly Meberg of Orlando, Fla., received the Commoner Senior Award for service to the college yearbook staff.Jeremiah Nasiatka

Jeremiah Nasiatka, son of Thomas and Donna Nasiatka of Feeding Hills, Mass., received the Triangle Senior Award for service to the student newspaper staff.Haley Abernathy

Hayley Gleason Abernathy, daughter of Donald and Cathy Gleason of Talbott, Tenn., received the William Jennings Bryan Philological Award for excellence in the English major.Jana Watson

Jana Watson, daughter of Jerry and Janet Watson of Ft. Payne, Ala., received the Willard L. Henning Biology Award for excellence in that subject.

Faculty and staff honorees included:Clark Rose

Dr. Clark Rose, professor of psychology, received the Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award.  Tracey Bridwell          

Mrs. Tracey Bridwell, advancement assistant, received the Staff Member of the Fall Semester Award. Stve Paulson             

Steve Paulson, database administrator/manager in the office of information technology, received the Staff Member of the Year Award.

Twenty-one faculty and staff members were recognized for years of service, including:

Among those honored for five or 10 years of service were, from left, front, Jennifer Travis, Adam Crownoble, Marlene Wilkey, Myra Goza and Leo Sayles. Back are Janet Piatt, Judy Olsen, Stefon Gray, Bruce Morgan and Don Rekoske.Five years: Mr. Adam Crownoble, web programmer; Mrs. Linda Hester, adult student services coordinator; Mr. Don Rekoske, head men's basketball coach; Mr. Michael Sapienza, vice president for enrollment management; Mr. Mark Sauve, head women's soccer coach; Mr. Leo Sayles, head volleyball coach; and Mrs. Jennifer Travis, coordinator for field placements.

Dr. Peter Held, left, and Dr. Ron Petitte were honored for 15 years of service.Ten years: Mrs. Marlene Wilkey, director of career planning and corporate relations; Ms. Myra Goza, resident director; Mr. Stefon Gray, director of information technology services; Dr. Stephanie Hartz, associate professor of biology; Dr. Maribeth Impson, professor of English; Mr. Bruce Morgan, dean of students; Mrs. Judy Olsen, administrative assistant for the Office of Student Life; and Mrs. Janet Piatt, registrar.

Fifteen years: Dr. Peter Held, vice president for student life; and Dr. Ronald Petitte, professor of politics and government.

Twenty-five years: Mrs. Valerie Castlen, mail services assistant.

From left are Dr. Phil Lestmann, Mrs. Valerie Castlen, Mrs. Karin Traylor and Dr. Jack Traylor.Thirty years: Dr. Phillip Lestmann, professor of mathematics; and Dr. Jack Traylor, professor of history.

Forty-five years: Mrs. Karin Traylor, administrative assistant to the academic vice president.

President Livesay also presented a print of Mercer Hall to Academic Vice President Dr. Cal White, who is leaving his post at the end of the year.Dr. Livesay, left, and Dr. White