Nominations sought for Teacher of the Year

June 4, 2014

Alumni and other members of the Bryan family have been invited to nominate faculty for the 2011-12 Teacher of the Year Award as a result of recent changes to the award process.

Dr. Ken Turner, chairman of the Faculty Development Committee, said the award is intended to recognize a Bryan faculty member in the traditional undergraduate program. The recipient should demonstrate excellent teaching skills, mastery of content, effective communication skills, integration of faith in their life and teaching, and should be viewed as a positive influence on the Bryan community.

To be eligible for the award, a faculty member must have taught at the college for a minimum of six semesters, including the Spring 2012 term, and must teach a minimum of six hours per semester in the traditional program.

Nominations must be made through this page, which includes a list of eligible faculty members. Names must be submitted by 5 p.m. Wednesday, April 11. “Since nominations will be weighted, not simply counted, please be specific on the reason for your nomination,” Dr. Turner said.

A committee consisting of the four previous award winners—William Harle, Clark Rose, David Luther, and Raymond Legg—and two students chosen by SGA will evaluate submitted nominations and will recommend a winner to the academic vice president. The award will be presented during the Honors Day Chapel April 23.