Bryan College Fishing Team Heads To Minnesota For National Championship: Bassmaster College Series Set for August 10-12

July 19, 2017

July 19, 2017 – Bryan College’s Fishing Team is preparing to head to Bemidji, Minnesota next month to compete for a national title at the Bassmaster College Series. The team proved to be a powerhouse in 2017 with the Lions securing a top-10 finish in every tournament this year except two. Three of those were 1st place finishes. This outstanding performance won the team the coveted title of Cabela’s School of the Year, and the team is prepared to continue their success competing for the national title.

Coach Mike Keen noted that the culture the team is building is one of success. “Our team is extremely dedicated in their approach to competition. There may be older more seasoned teams we compete with; however, no one will out-prepare our team for competition. This is part of the culture at Bryan College and something we honor as we compete.”

“We encourage the development of every student to go into the world to make a difference,” said Bryan College President Stephen Livesay. “Whether it’s in competition or in academia, Bryan College students are well-prepared to meet the challenges they face.” He noted that there will be several forthcoming announcements regarding new programs from the College.

“We are focused on offerings that will position Bryan College as a top-of-mind choice for higher education,” he said. “Because of this, we know we have to focus not only on present day needs but also on a future that continues to look exceptionally bright.”

Last year, Bryan College received numerous awards including a $1,200.00 credit toward team jerseys for this year featuring special recognition as Cabela’s School of the Year from 2017. The prestigious award is based on the number of tournaments won throughout the year.

The Bassmaster National Championship will take place on Lake Bemidji, located in Minnesota and hosted in conjunction with Visit Bemidji. After three days of competition, the national champions will be named.