Bryan Debate Team secures first place at competition

April 13, 2018
Bryan Debate Team at the Parliamentary Debate Tournament
2018 Bryan College Debate Team pictured left to right: Alex Daniels, Gloriana Sapp, Walker Frizzell, Victoria Suich, Spencer Baker, J.C. Donoghue

April 13, 2018 – The Bryan College Debate Team brought home the coveted first place award last Saturday from East Tennessee State University’s Parliamentary Debate Tournament.  ETSU’s tournament hosted teams from seven other schools including the University of Virginia and Tennessee Tech.

Awards for speaking excellence were presented to Spencer Baker, who received 3rd place and Gloriana Sapp, who received 6th place.  Bryan was also well represented by Walker Frizzell, Alex Daniels, and J.C. Donoghue.

Varsity competitors Spencer Baker and Victoria Suich sailed to victory in the elimination rounds by sweeping the judging panels in both the semi-final and final debates for an overwhelming first place finish.

The win was somewhat bittersweet for Suich, as this was her last tournament as a Debating Lion.  She is graduating this spring as a Piano Performance major and entering the University of Illinois this fall to pursue a Master’s Degree in Music Therapy.

Another senior debater, Chenoa Gonzalaz, while not able to travel with the team this semester, still provided important critique to strengthen other debaters’ skills. Chenoa is a double major, double minor, ready to take the literary world by storm.

Both Victoria and Chenoa will be greatly missed when the 2018-2019 season kicks off in October.

“There has been tremendous growth in all of our debaters this year,” said Debate Coach, Liz Absher. “But I am particularly proud of our newest members: Alex Daniels, Makayla Catlett, Gloriana Sapp, and J.C. Donoghue.  They have weathered a steep learning curve and have already proven to be strong team assets.  Spencer Baker, Walker Frizzell and Team Captain, Emily Webber, anchor the team and provide invaluable leadership.  It is an honor to work with this talented group of young adults.”

Written by: Elizabeth Absher, debate coach; Edited by: Britney Wyatt, director of marketing