Bryan College Celebrates Athletics Hall of Fame Inductees

soccer-championsNovember 8, 2016 – In 1977, Bryan College’s men’s soccer program made history by winning three straight NCCAA National Championships. Their tremendous accomplishments on the field will now be forever remembered as all members from the ‘75 and ‘76 team were recently inducted into Bryan’s Athletics Hall of Fame.

“These team members and the legacy they represent at Bryan College is one of courage, determination and the hearts of champions,” said Paulakay Hall ‘84, Alumni Director at Bryan College. “These team members came from every walk of life and many different countries, yet I have never seen classmates so dearly knit together. They are true Lions.”

In 1975, Bryan defeated Judson College 2-1 to win their first title. The subsequent championships came with wins against Grace College in 1976 and Eastern Mennonite College in 1977. Following the 1976 season, Luke Germann ‘78 and John Shalanko ‘77 were named to the NCCAA All-American Team.

Inductees include:

Head Coach – John Reeser

Assistant Coach – Bob Andrews ’67

Steve Bailey ’77

Ken Baker ’76

Randy Ballard ’76

Tim Becker ’81

Sam Blanchard ’77

Don Blanton ’76

Brian Chapman ’79

Skip Cline ’77 – Team Assistant

Jerry Cline ’78

Archie Cole ’79

Rocky DaCosta ’80

Tim Faugl ’76

Benny Gati ’78

Luke Germann ’78

Ngugi Githuka ’77

Charlie Goodman ’79

Chuck Grant ’76

Nyles Huffman ’81

Erkki Lahdeaho ’80

Seppo Lahdeaho ’78

Neil Magnussen ’77

Rodman Miller ’76

Glenn Porcella ’77

Biff Quarles ’76

Mastin Robeson ’76

John Shalanko ’77

David Shaver ’79

Jim Soyster ’80

Carlos Vega ’79

Jose Vega ’78

To view a list of past inductees into the Bryan Athletics Hall of Fame, click here.


Written by Curtis Jolley, Social Media and Communications Coordinator