Men’s Soccer Hosts NAIA Tournament Game Saturday

mens-soccer-naia-championshipNovember 16, 2016 – The Bryan Lions Men’s Soccer team looks to extend their season with a home playoff match against Spring Arbor University on Saturday, Nov. 19 at 2 p.m. in the opening round of the NAIA tournament.

Admission for the game is: Adults – $5, Students – $1, and Ages 10 & under – free.

If you can’t make it to campus, you can live-stream Saturday’s game and keep up with live stats provided by Bryan’s Sports Information department.

Finishing the regular season at No. 11 in the nation, the Lions pieced together a remarkable year, knocking off three opponents ranked in the top 25 along the way. This season, the Lions have outscored their opponents a combined 56-16 with only one loss on their record.

Bryan’s back line has been anchored by Jordan Dunstan who earned AAC Defensive Player of the Year honors and Brad Spooner, who was named the AAC Freshman of the Year. Bryan also had four members named to the All-Conference First Team and two named to the Second Team.

This is Bryan’s 4th NAIA tournament appearance in program history and the 5th for Spring Arbor. The winner of Saturday’s game will head to Delray Beach, Florida for the tournament’s second round of 16 teams at the Seacrest Soccer Complex.

To stay up to date with the Bryan Lions Men’s Soccer team, follow them on Twitter @BCLionsMSoc. Visit for information about Bryan Lions Athletics.


Written by Wesley Sanders, Sports Information Director 

Bryan College Celebrates Athletics Hall of Fame Inductees

soccer-championsNovember 8, 2016 – In 1977, Bryan College’s men’s soccer program made history by winning three straight NCCAA National Championships. Their tremendous accomplishments on the field will now be forever remembered as all members from the ‘75 and ‘76 team were recently inducted into Bryan’s Athletics Hall of Fame.

“These team members and the legacy they represent at Bryan College is one of courage, determination and the hearts of champions,” said Paulakay Hall ‘84, Alumni Director at Bryan College. “These team members came from every walk of life and many different countries, yet I have never seen classmates so dearly knit together. They are true Lions.”

In 1975, Bryan defeated Judson College 2-1 to win their first title. The subsequent championships came with wins against Grace College in 1976 and Eastern Mennonite College in 1977. Following the 1976 season, Luke Germann ‘78 and John Shalanko ‘77 were named to the NCCAA All-American Team.

Inductees include:

Head Coach – John Reeser

Assistant Coach – Bob Andrews ’67

Steve Bailey ’77

Ken Baker ’76

Randy Ballard ’76

Tim Becker ’81

Sam Blanchard ’77

Don Blanton ’76

Brian Chapman ’79

Skip Cline ’77 – Team Assistant

Jerry Cline ’78

Archie Cole ’79

Rocky DaCosta ’80

Tim Faugl ’76

Benny Gati ’78

Luke Germann ’78

Ngugi Githuka ’77

Charlie Goodman ’79

Chuck Grant ’76

Nyles Huffman ’81

Erkki Lahdeaho ’80

Seppo Lahdeaho ’78

Neil Magnussen ’77

Rodman Miller ’76

Glenn Porcella ’77

Biff Quarles ’76

Mastin Robeson ’76

John Shalanko ’77

David Shaver ’79

Jim Soyster ’80

Carlos Vega ’79

Jose Vega ’78

To view a list of past inductees into the Bryan Athletics Hall of Fame, click here.


Written by Curtis Jolley, Social Media and Communications Coordinator