English honor society inducts members
December 17, 2009

E-mail this to a friend   Post this page to Facebook  

Sigma Tau Delta members include, from left, front, Dr. Whit Jones,
Melissa Longoria, Emily McKeehan, Stephanie Shields, Elizabeth Williams, Millie Jones, Stephen Hill, and Mr. William Harle. Back are Dr. Ray Legg, Joseph Maughon, Daniel Zimmerman, Elijah Ammen, Robert Hargraves, Justin Malloy, Drew Fendrich, and Rob Yates.

Sixteen English majors have been inducted into the Bryan College chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, an international English Honor Society recognizing outstanding performance in their major.


“Sigma Tau Delta’s central purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies,” according to information on the society’s web site. Membership is open to undergraduate and graduate students who have distinguished themselves in their studies. The society also includes faculty members and others recognized for their contribution to the fields of language and literature.


Inductees include seniors Elijah Ammen, Aimee Crotts, Stephen Hill, Millie Jones, Melissa Longoria, Joseph Maughon, Audrey Ann Sanders, Rob Yates and Daniel Zimmerman; juniors Kendall Armstrong, Robert Hargraves, Garrett Lemons, Justin Malloy, Emily McKeehan and Stephanie Shields; and sophomore Andrew Fendrich.


During the induction ceremony new members received their membership pins and certificates, and chapter advisor Dr. Whit Jones challenged them to continue their pursuit of excellence in the discipline.