Alumni celebrate Bryan heritage

June 4, 2014

blanton2sm rogers3smHundreds of alumni gathered Thursday through Sunday, October 5 to 7, to celebrate the Bryan legacy as the college family celebrated Homecoming 2012 with a look back and a look ahead.

Connie and Don Blanton were named Alumni of the Year
by Vice President of Advancement Blake Hudson, right. Members of the Class of 1987 were special guests for a 25th reunion dinner on Friday before a dessert and coffee social brought everyone together.

Matt and Kelly Rogers, left, were named Young Alumni of the Year by David Tromanhauser. The second annual Breakfast on the Bluff at Fort Bluff Camp on Saturday brought about 70 early-risers for pancakes and fruit in the Bluff House overlooking Dayton and the Tennessee River.

Bob Vincent, left, was named an
Honorary Alumnus by
Alumni Director David Tromanhauser.
An early-morning rain stopped in time for the tailgate lunch before the Lions took on (and beat 2-0) St. Catharine College in the homecoming soccer match. At intermission, seniors Amy Morris of Jacksboro, Tenn., and Kelly Findley of Tallahassee, Fla., were named queen and king.

Mary Frances Rudd Carlson, daughter of Bryan’s third president, Dr. Judson Rudd, told alumni during the awards dinner that Saturday was the 42nd anniversary of her father’s homegoing. “In cleaning out his office I found a cavincenthonalsmrbon copy of a letter thanking a lady for a contribution of $1.

Dr. Sandy Zensen, right, inducted former soccer player Isidro Loaiza into the Athletics Hall of Fame before he, too, was inducted by David Tromanhauser. “I hope all alumni have Bryan on your priority list,” she said. “There are few places you can give where your gift goes around the world in the person of alumni who share Christ Above All.”

hof2smPresident Stephen Livesay gave a “state of the college” report, pointing out recent growth in enrollment and physical improvements. But, he said, “There can be nothing greater for us than to uphold our motto, Christ Above All.”

Awards presented during the dinner included:

  • Alumni of the Year – Don, ’76x, and Connie (Peacock), ’76, Blanton.
  • Young Alumni of the Year – Matt and Kelly (Crane) Rogers, both ’05.
  • Honorary Alumnus – Dayton Mayor Bob Vincent.
  • Athletics Hall of Fame – Isidro Loaiza, ’01, and Dr. Sandy Zensen

Homecoming concluded Sunday with a chapel service led by Schaun Myers, ’87. Scott Hooker, ’82, and Jim Koan, ’87, led worship.