Chapel program honors underclassmen

June 3, 2014

Fifty students were recognized during Bryan’s Honors Day chapel for underclassmen April 25. Honorees included:

Katherine Warren received the Virginia M. Schmickl Music Award, presented to the freshman music major with the highest academic average.

Caitlin Hawkins, Kelly Miller, and Anna Roberts shared the Mary McDonald Groves Music Scholarship, presented to students with outstanding achievement in the music major.

Randy Bright, Glenna Gibbs, Brian Huff, Monica Kehrer, Alexis Landry, Michelle Molzhan, and Mariana Sterne shared the M.A. Cooley Memorial Music Scholarship, presented to music students who demonstrate special musical ability.

Matt Albin and Kyle Thomas shared the Harold C. and Ruthanna Almond Music Scholarship, presented music students who exhibit exemplary Christian character, scholastic ability, and dedicated talent.

Alissa Passburg and Kristen Underwood shared the Roe F. and Zelma I. Black Memorial Scholarship in Music, presented to upperclassmen majoring in keyboard or instrumental music based on the student’s ability, interest in music, and personal character.

Catherine Rogers received the Theodore C. and Alice M. Mercer Scholarship, presented to the rising editor of the student newspaper.

Chris Leary received the Commoner Service Award, presented in recognition of his contribution to the staff of the college yearbook.

Hannah Jared received the Commoner Grant, presented to incoming editor of the college yearbook.

Maddie Doucet received the Catherine McDonald Communications Scholarship, presented to a communication studies major based on academic merit and progress.

Luke Ebersole received the Paul Long Scholarship in recognition of his achievement in art.

Ashley Boyd, Luke Fox, Brian Huff, and Alexis Landry received the Haynes Hilltop Players Leadership Award in recognition of their contribution to the college theatre program.

Betsy Hailes and Mariana Sterne shared the Rachel Morgan Patron Award, presented for outstanding contribution to the theatre program.

Elizabeth Olsen received the Nannie Ketner McDonald Education Scholarship, presented to an education major in recognition of academic merit and progress.

Aaron Hunt received the Fred and Dot Wagoner Scholarship, presented to a Christian studies or natural sciences major on the basis of academic and Christian commitment.

Kate-Marie Parks received the CRC Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award, given to the science or math major with the highest average in the introductory chemistry class.

Matthew Wilkinson received the Lawrence E. and Lillian C. Payne Scholarship, given to an outstanding Biblical studies major.

Amanda Harris received the Robert and Nita Anderson Memorial Scholarship, presented to a student preparing for foreign missionary service.

Summer Weiss received the Elinor Fox Baker Leadership Scholarship, a grant given to an outstanding woman studying in the Christian Studies division.

Myles Hixson received the Charles A. and Theda F. Thomas Scholarship, presented to a deserving Bible major.

John Franklin received the Lizzie Reis-Orin A. Keach Educational Fund award, given to a student planning to enter a Christian vocation.

Callie Dawkins, Brian Dicks, and Stephen Green received D.B. Rice Scholarships, given to students who are planning a career of vocational Christian service. Callie also received the Christian Ministry Award to an outstanding underclassman.

Rachel Mele received the John D. Lawson Scholarship, presented to a student who is preparing for vocational Christian ministry.

Caitlin Hawkins received the Gordon and Janice Lou Alley Scholarship, presented to students who plan to enter full-time Christian service.

Kelsey McCormick received the R. Kent and Margie B. Mann Scholarship, presented to deserving students.

Nicholas Pacurari received the Anna C. Robinson Memorial Scholarship, presented to biblical studies or Christian education majors who are planning a career in church-related ministry.

Lydia Steele received the Ann Burwick Scholarship, presented to a student interested in pursuing a counseling ministry.

Rachel Bailey received the Psychology Achievement Award presented to an outstanding freshman.

Clayton Schmidt received the Mercer and Bernyce Clementson Scholarship, presented to a business administration major who demonstrates leadership potential.

Lauren Estes received the Al Page Memorial Scholarship, presented to a business major with a focus on Christian perspective of business ethics and evangelism.

Laura Adams received the Business Scholarship, presented to a rising senior who shows potential for success in business.

Rebecca Bodine received the Frank J. Schmickl Scholarship, given to the freshman mathematics major with the highest academic average.

Haley Koster received the Mathematics Scholarship, presented to an outstanding mathematics major.

John Glenn received the Paul McCarthy Scholarship, presented to an outstanding computer science major.

Krista Elsten received the Outstanding Underclassman Award in History for her accomplishments in that major.

Lee Rickman received the Richard “Archie” Cole Memorial Fund, presented to students who demonstrate ability and interest in playing intercollegiate soccer.

Ashton Alexander received the Brynoff Scholarship in English, presented to an English major with ability and personal character.

Lynnette Musser received the Ralph E. and Rebecca H. Toliver MK Scholarship, presented to a student whose parents are overseas career missionaries.

Faithe Stout received the Outstanding Underclassman in Spanish award for her achievement in the major.

Vincent Smith received the Outstanding Underclassman in Politics and Government award for his accomplishments in that major.

Trevor Haught, Josiah Newport, and Kaziah Newport shared the Harry V. Schnabel, Jr., Award, presented to students whose parents are missionaries or full-time Christian workers.