Holcomb receives Staff Member of the Year: teacher and scholar of the year announced

May 9, 2018

May 9, 2018 – Bryan College recently bestowed several faculty and staff awards in the annual Honors Chapel service on April 25. Each year Bryan College supervisors and colleagues nominate a full-time staff member who has modeled exemplary service to the college for Staff Member of the Year. The 2018 recipient of the Staff Member of the Year is David Holcomb, scholarship fund director and director of the Bryan College Martial Arts Academy.

David Holcomb holding his award for Staff Member of the Year

The 2018 Teacher of the Year recipient is Dr. Samuel Youngs. The Teacher of the Year is selected from nominations received by students, staff, faculty, administrators or alumni. The recipient exemplifies excellent teaching skills, mastery of content, effective communication skills, integration of faith in the classroom and in his life, and is widely viewed as a positive influence on the Bryan community.

Dr. Samuel Youngs as the Teacher of the Year recipient.

The 2018 Scholar of the Year is Dr. Neal Doran. This award celebrates the scholarly activity of the faculty both in its traditional forms of publishing and presenting and in its less traditional forms, such as performing and professional consulting. This award recognizes the effort it takes to engage in one’s discipline and with one’s peers.

Dr. Neal Doran as the Scholar of the Year recipient.

The Faculty Appreciation Award is selected by the Office of Admissions and recognizes a deserving faculty member who has gone above and beyond to meet with prospective students and families during their visits, make phone calls, and assist the Admission Office in their mission of recruiting students to Bryan College. Dr. Daniel Gates is the 2018 recipient of the Faculty Appreciation Award.

Dr. Daniel Gates headshot

Bryan College congratulates all the award recipients. We are grateful for your dedication to Bryan College and our students.

Tags: , , , , ,